MINUTES

OF

THE HERTFORD TOWN COUNCIL ANNUAL MEETING HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, HERTFORD

ON

THURSDAY 20 MAY 2010 AT 7.30PM

PRESENT:

The Mayor, Councillor Mrs B S Haddock

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor P Ruffles

Councillors: Miss K P Darby, Mrs H P Durbin, Mrs A Emsley, M McCormick Mrs S M Newton, D R Poole, R A K Radford, Dr L E Radford, Miss J C S Sartin and N Wilson

Town Clerk Mrs N L Villa Civic Administration Manager, Ms T Carpenter Marketing and Promotions Manager, Miss M Challis Finance Assistant, Mrs P A Chappell Allotments Officer, Mrs S Viitmaa

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR

Councillor Mrs S Newton moved and Councillor N Wilson seconded that:

Councillor Brenda Sylvia Haddock of 8 Birdie Way, Hertford be and is hereby elected Chairman of the Council with the style of Town Mayor for the ensuing municipal year and until his successor shall accept office and make and subscribe the required declaration.

The proposal was carried. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix A.**

2. <u>DECLARATION AND ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE.</u>

Councillor Mrs B S Haddock made and signed the formal Declaration and Acceptance of Office and then retired to put on the Mayoral Robe and Chain of Office.

3. INTERLUDE

There was a musical interlude whilst the Mayor and retiring Mayor exchanged robes.

4. OATH OF ALLEGIANCE AND MAYOR'S OATH

The newly elected Mayor returned and took the Oath of Allegiance and the Mayor's Oath.

5. THE MAYOR'S SPEECH

The Mayor thanked her proposer and seconder and her fellow Councillors for supporting the proposal. A copy of his speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix B.**

6. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor R Radford proposed and Councillor Miss K P Darby seconded a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor. A copy of Cllr Radford's speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix C.**

7. REPLY BY RETIRING MAYOR

In reply the retiring Mayor, Councillor Miss D R Poole thanked Councillors Radford and Miss Darby for their very kind remarks. A copy of his speech forms part of the minutes - **Appendix D**

8. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor, Councillor Mrs Brenda Haddock moved and Councillor Miss J Sartin seconded that Councillor P Ruffles MBE be elected Deputy Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

10. RESPONSE BY DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor P Ruffles MBE thanked his fellow Councillors for the nomination which he was pleased to accept.

11. <u>APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND SUB COMMITTEES FOR</u> 2010/11

Councillor Miss K Darby proposed and Councillor M McCromick seconded the Appointment of Standing Committees and Sub Committees for the ensuing municipal year. This proposal was carried – **Appendix E**

12. NOMINATION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FROM THE MAJORITY POLITICAL GROUP

Councillor Mrs S Newton proposed and Councillor N Wilson seconded the nomination of Councillor Dr L E Radford as Leader of the Council. This proposal was carried.

Councillor Dr L E Radford outlined the Council's programme for the year. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix F**

13. APPOINTMENTS AND NOMINATIONS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

Councillor Mrs H Durbin proposed and Councillor Mrs A Emsley seconded the appointments and nominations to outside bodies. .

The following was carried:

- (1) The schedule of appointments and nominations on the schedule attached as **Appendix G** be adopted.
- (2) New appointments be considered at the end of their term of appointment or sooner if a former Councillor or appointee resigned their post.

14. DATES, TIMES AND PLACE OF MEETINGS OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE YEAR

Councillor Dr L Radford proposed and Councillor Mrs S Newton seconded dates, times and place of meetings (subject to the requirement for any additional meetings) for the forthcoming year. — **Appendix H**

15. RISING OF THE COUNCIL

The Mayor, Councillor Mrs B Haddock declared the meeting at an end.