MINUTES

OF

THE HERTFORD TOWN COUNCIL ANNUAL MEETING

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, HERTFORD

ON

THURSDAY 21 MAY 2009 AT 7.30PM

PRESENT:

The Mayor, Councillor D R Poole

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Mrs B S Haddock

Councillors: Miss K P Darby, Mrs H P Durbin, Miss C J Geall, J C Hedley, Mrs D M Hone, Mrs S M Newton, D R Poole, R A K Radford, Dr L E Radford, Miss J C S Sartin, N Wilson and Mrs B M Wrangles

Town Clerk Mrs N L Villa Administrative to the Town Clerk, Miss M Challis Finance Assistant, Mrs P A Chappell Secretary to the Mayor, Mrs J Fichera

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR

Councillor Miss Chantal Geall moved and Councillor Miss Jane Sartin seconded that:

Councillor David Ronald Poole of 90 Windsor Drive, Hertford be and is hereby elected Chairman of the Council with the style of Town Mayor for the ensuing municipal year and until his successor shall accept office and make and subscribe the required declaration.

The proposal was carried. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes – Appendix A.

2. DECLARATION AND ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE.

Councillor D R Poole made and signed the formal Declaration and Acceptance of Office and then retired to put on the Mayoral Robe and Chain of Office.

3. INTERLUDE

There was a musical interlude whilst the Mayor and retiring Mayor exchanged robes.

4. OATH OF ALLEGIANCE AND MAYOR'S OATH

The newly elected Mayor returned and took the Oath of Allegiance and the Mayor's Oath.

5. <u>THE MAYOR'S SPEECH</u>

The Mayor thanked his proposer and seconder and his fellow Councillors for supporting the proposal. A copy of his speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix B.**

6. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor Mrs Sally Newton proposed and Councillor Peter Ruffles seconded a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor. A copy of Cllr Newton's speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix C.**

7. <u>REPLY BY RETIRING MAYOR</u>

In reply the retiring Mayor, Councillor Miss K P Darby thanked Councillors Newton and Ruffles for their very kind remarks. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes - **Appendix D**

8. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u>

The Mayor, Councillor David Poole moved and Councillor Nik Wilson seconded that Councillor Mrs Brenda Haddock be elected Deputy Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

10. RESPONSE BY DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor Mrs B S Haddock thanked her fellow Councillors for the nomination which she was pleased to accept. She said that it was a privilege to serve the people of Hertford and she would do her best to support the Mayor during the forthcoming year.

11. <u>APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND SUB COMMITTEES FOR</u> 2009/2010

Councillor Mrs Sally Newton proposed and Councillor Russell Radford seconded the Appointment of Standing Committees and Sub Committees for the ensuing municipal year. This proposal was carried – **Appendix E**

12. <u>NOMINATION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FROM THE MAJORITY</u> <u>POLITICAL GROUP</u>

Councillor Miss Kim Darby proposed and Councillor Peter Ruffles seconded the nomination of Councillor Dr L E Radford as Leader of the Council. This proposal was carried.

Councillor Dr L E Radford outlined the Council's programme for the year. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix F**

13. <u>APPOINTMENTS AND NOMINATIONS TO OUTSIDE BODIES</u>

Councillor Mrs Dorothy Hone proposed and Councillor Mrs Beryl Wrangles seconded the appointments and nominations to outside bodies.

The following was carried:

- (1) The schedule of appointments and nominations on the schedule attached as **Appendix G** be adopted.
- (2) New appointments be considered at the end of their term of appointment or sooner if a former Councillor or appointee resigned their post.

14. DATES, TIMES AND PLACE OF MEETINGS OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE YEAR

Councillor Mrs Brenda Haddock proposed and Councillor Mrs Hilary Durbin seconded dates, times and place of meetings (subject to the requirement for any additional meetings) for the forthcoming year. – **Appendix H**

15. <u>RISING OF THE COUNCIL</u>

The Mayor, Councillor D R Poole declared the meeting at an end.