MINUTES

OF

THE HERTFORD TOWN COUNCIL ANNUAL MEETING

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, HERTFORD

ON

THURSDAY 17 MAY 2012 AT 7.30PM

PRESENT:

The Mayor, Councillor Miss J C S Sartin

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor D Poole

Councillors: P Boyle, Miss C Geall, Mrs B Haddock, Mrs B Mansfield M McCormick, P Moore, Mrs S M Newton, D R Poole, Dr L E Radford, R Radford, Miss I Sigmac, A Stevenson, R Willis and N Wilson

Town Clerk Mrs N L Villa Civic Administration Manager, Ms T Carpenter Finance Assistant, Mrs P A Chappell Mayor's Secretary, T Hardy Facilities Officers, Miss V England Facilities Officer, Mr W Sugrue

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR

Councillor P Ruffles moved and Councillor Miss C Geall seconded that:

Councillor Miss Jane Caroline Stewart Sartin of 40 Elton Court, Elton Road, Hertford be and is hereby elected Chairman of the Council with the style of Town Mayor for the ensuing municipal year and until his successor shall accept office and make and subscribe the required declaration.

The proposal was carried. A copy of Cllr Ruffles' speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix A.**

2. <u>DECLARATION AND ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE.</u>

Councillor Miss J C S Sartin made and signed the formal Declaration and Acceptance of Office and then retired to put on the Mayoral Robe and Chain of Office.

3. INTERLUDE

There was a musical interlude whilst the Mayor and retiring Mayor exchanged robes.

4. OATH OF ALLEGIANCE AND MAYOR'S OATH

The newly elected Mayor returned and took the Oath of Allegiance and the Mayor's Oath.

5. <u>THE MAYOR'S SPEECH</u>

The Mayor thanked her proposer and seconder and her fellow Councillors for supporting the proposal. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix B.**

6. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor R Radford proposed and Councillor Miss G Geall seconded a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor. A copy of Cllr Radford's speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix C.**

7. <u>REPLY BY RETIRING MAYOR</u>

In reply the retiring Mayor, Councillor Mrs S M Newton thanked Councillors Radford and Miss Geall for their very kind remarks. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes - **Appendix D**

8. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u>

The Mayor, Councillor Miss J C S Sartin moved and Councillor P Moore seconded that Councillor D Poole be elected Deputy Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

9. RESPONSE BY DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor D Poole thanked his fellow Councillors for the nomination which he was pleased to accept.

10. APPOINTMENT OF THE MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Mayor, Miss J C S Sartin proposed and the Deputy Mayor, Cllr D Poole seconded the appointment of the Rev'd Routledge as Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing municipal year.

11. <u>APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND SUB COMMITTEES FOR</u> 2012/13

Councillor R Willis proposed and Councillor A Stevenson seconded the Appointment of Standing Committees and Sub Committees for the ensuing municipal year. This proposal was carried – **Appendix E**

13. <u>NOMINATION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FROM THE MAJORITY</u> <u>POLITICAL GROUP</u>

Councillor M McCormick proposed and Councillor Mrs B Mansfield seconded the nomination of Councillor Dr L E Radford as Leader of the Council. This proposal was carried.

Councillor Dr L E Radford outlined the Council's programme for the year. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix F**

14. <u>APPOINTMENTS AND NOMINATIONS TO OUTSIDE BODIES</u>

Councillor P Boyle proposed and Councillor Miss I Sigmac seconded the appointments and nominations to outside bodies.

The following was carried:

- (1) The schedule of appointments and nominations on the schedule attached as **Appendix G** be adopted.
- (2) New appointments be considered at the end of their term of appointment or sooner if a former Councillor or appointee resigned their post.

15. DATES, TIMES AND PLACE OF MEETINGS OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE YEAR

Councillor Mrs B Haddock proposed and Councillor N Wilson seconded dates, times and place of meetings (subject to the requirement for any additional meetings) for the forthcoming year. – **Appendix H**

16. RISING OF THE COUNCIL

The Mayor, Councillor Miss J C S Sartin declared the meeting at an end.