MINUTES

OF

THE HERTFORD TOWN COUNCIL ANNUAL MEETING HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, HERTFORD ON

THURSDAY 15 MAY 2008 AT 7.30PM

PRESENT:

The Mayor, Councillor Miss K P Darby

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor P A Ruffles

Councillors S J Bright, J F Cook, Mrs H P Durbin, Miss C J Geall, Mrs S M Newton, D R Poole, Dr L E Radford, Miss J C S Sartin and N Wilson

Town Clerk Ms N L Villa Administrative Secretary, Mrs M E Aldrich Finance Assistant, Mrs P A Chappell Secretary to the Mayor, Mrs J Fichera

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR

Councillor Mrs S M Newton moved and Councillor D R Poole seconded that:

Councillor Miss Kim Philippa Darby of The Flat, Ware Park Farm, Ware be and is hereby elected Chairman of the Council with the style of Town Mayor for the ensuing municipal year and until her successor shall accept office and make and subscribe the required declaration.

The proposition was carried.

2. <u>DECLARATION AND ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE.</u>

Councillor Miss K P Darby made and signed the formal Declaration and Acceptance of Office and then retired to put on the Mayoral Robe and Chain of Office.

3. <u>INTERLUDE</u>

There was a musical interlude whilst the Mayor and retiring Mayor exchanged robes.

4. OATH OF ALLEGIANCE AND MAYOR'S OATH

The newly elected Mayor returned and took the Oath of Allegiance and the Mayor's Oath.

5. THE MAYOR'S SPEECH

The Mayor thanked her proposer and seconder and her fellow Councillors for supporting the proposals. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix A.**

6. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor P A Ruffles proposed and Councillor Mrs S M Newton seconded a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor. A copy of his speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix B.**

7. REPLY BY RETIRING MAYOR

In reply the retiring Mayor, Councillor R A K Radford thanked Councillors Ruffles and Newton for their very kind remarks. A copy of his speech forms part of the minutes - **Appendix C**

8. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u>

The Mayor, Councillor Miss K P Darby moved and Councillor J F Cook seconded that Councillor P A Ruffles be elected Deputy Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

10. RESPONSE BY DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor P A Ruffles thanked his fellow Councillors for the nomination which he was pleased to accept. He said that it was a privilege to serve the people of Hertford and he would do his best to support the Mayor during the forthcoming year.

11. <u>APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND SUB COMMITTEES FOR 2008/2009</u>

Councillor Dr L E Radford proposed and Councillor Mrs B S Haddock seconded the Appointment of Standing Committees and Sub Committees for the ensuing municipal year. This proposal was carried – **Appendix D**

12. NOMINATION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FROM THE MAJORITY POLITICAL GROUP

Councillor Miss J C S Sartin proposed and Councillor D R Poole seconded the nomination of Councillor Miss C J Geall as Leader of the Council. This proposal was carried.

Councillor Miss C J Geall outlined the Council's programme for the year. A copy of her speech forms part of the minutes – **Appendix E**

13. APPOINTMENTS AND NOMINATIONS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

Councillor N Wilson proposed and Councillor S J Bright seconded the appointments and nominations to outside bodies.

The following was carried:

- (1) The schedule of appointments and nominations on the schedule attached as **Appendix F** be adopted.
- (2) New appointments be considered at the end of their term of appointment or sooner if a former Councillor or appointee resigned their post.

14. <u>DATES, TIMES AND PLACE OF MEETINGS OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE YEAR</u>

Councillor Dr L E Radford proposed and Councillor Miss C J Geall seconded the dates, times and place of meetings for the forthcoming year. This proposal was carried together with the addition of any adhoc meetings as required.

Appendix G

15. RISING OF THE COUNCIL

The Mayor, Councillor Miss K P Darby declared the meeting at an end.